AIA NOLA Design Awards

Interior of high-ceiling kitchen space with vertical-slat screen feature built in the foreground with staircase behind the screen

URBANbuild18 - Tulane School of Architecture, People's Choice Award.

Of 19 awarded projects, 13 included Tulane-affiliated teams

The School of Architecture’s URBANbuild team of students, led by Senior Professor of Practice Byron Mouton, received the People's Choice Award at the AIA New Orleans 2023 Design Awards.

Of the 19 awarded projects, 13 included teams with Tulane faculty, alumni and students. Scroll below to see the full list of Tulane-affiliated winners. Alumni, faculty, staff, and students are noted by bold font.

Civic/Institutional - Honor

Night photo, looking at the corner of a multi-story museum with some lights on inside, streaming out through screening that wraps around the entire  building.
Bruce Museum, designed by EskewDumezRipple

EskewDumezRipple Project Team:

  • Steve Dumez, FAIA, Noah Marble, AIA, Shawn Preau, AIA, Javier Marcano, AIA, Haley Allen, AIA, Guan Wang, Vanessa Smith-Torres, AIA, Kyle Digby, AIA, Sam Levison, AIA, Mark Thorburn, AIA, Max Katz, AIA

Commercial Large Scale - Honor

Day photo of exterior corner of a commercial building with its upper floor ascending in a stair-step design into the background.
Center of Developing Entrepreneurs (CoDE), EskewDumezRipple / WOLF ACKERMAN

EskewDumezRipple / WOLF ACKERMAN Project Team:

  • EskewDumezRipple – José Alvarez, Noah Marble, Steve Dumez, Z Smith, Tyler Guidroz, Jill Traylor, Max Katz, Shannon Griffin, Tom Gibbons, Alex Swiggum, Kelsey Wotila
  • WOLF ACKERMAN - Fred Wolf, Dave Ackerman, Mark Merolla, Joey Laughlin

Commercial Large Scale - Commendation

Photo of exterior of Spanish Plaza Restaurant by Mathes Brierre Architects
Spanish Plaza, Mathes Brierre Architects

Mathes Brierre Architects Project Team:

  • Tony Alfortish, Angela Morton, Jason Anthony, Kurt Rowe

Commercial Small Scale - Commendation

Night photo of a very modern commercial building with vertical wood detail wrapping the facade.
Rain Residential (The Collective), designed by M2 Studio

M2 Studio Project Team:

  • Charles J. Neyrey, James Vo, Libby Creim

Historic Preservation, Restoration & Adaptive Reuse - Honor

Night photo of renovated, historic power plant with tall windows and stacks in the background.
JW Marriott Savannah Power Plant Hotel, designed by Campo Architecture & Interior Design

Campo Architecture & Interior Design Project Team:

  • John T. Campo Jr, AIA, NCARB; Miriam Salas, AIA, LEED AP; Janina Scalfano, AIA; Katherine Mason; Nathan Fell, AIA; Joseph Newman

Historic Preservation, Restoration & Adaptive Reuse - Honor

Interior view of an auditorium looking down at the stage from the back of the upper level of the auditorium.
Frederick A. Douglass Senior High School Auditorium, NANO Architecture | Interiors

NANO Architecture | Interiors Project Team:

  • Kristine Kobila, Sam LeBlanc, Kelsey Chappuis

Interior Architecture - Merit

Interior of a dark bar with arched, art deco detailing
JoJo’s Beloved Cocktail Lounge, designed by Bell-Butler Design and Architecture

Bell-Butler Design and Architecture Project Team:

  • Lindsay Butler, Alyce Deshotels

Master Planning/Urban Design - Merit

Aerial photo of a school campus with modern style buildings and large open outdoor, plaza spaces
Thaden School Master Plan, EskewDumezRipple / Marlon Blackwell Architects / Andropogon

EskewDumezRipple / Marlon Blackwell Architects / Andropogon Project Team:

  • EskewDumezRipple – Steve Dumez, FAIA, Z Smith, FAIA, Christian Rodriguez, AIA, Amanda Rivera, AIA, Mike Johnson, AIA, Haley Robinson, AIA
  • Marlon Blackwell Architects – Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, Meryati Blackwell, AIA, Josh Matthews, AIA, Bradford Payne, AIA
  • Adropogon – Jose Alminana, ASLA, Emily Mccoy, PLA, ASLA, Benjamin Monette, PLA, ASLA

Multi-Family Residential - Merit

Exterior facade of a modern style multi-family building with an open sky above it.
Morgan City Senior Affordable Housing, designed by Rome Office

Rome Office Project Team:

  • Brian Rome, Jiayi Hong, Melissa Rome, Mollie Burke, Page Comeaux

Single-Family and Two-Family Residential - Honor

View of the front of a modern style two-story home with a carport built under the left side of the home.
Baxdel Residence, designed by Colectivo

Colectivo Project Team:

  • Elliott Petterson, Seth Welty, Emilie Taylor Welty, Baxter Stewart

Single-Family and Two-Family Residential - Commendation

Single-story modern style home, elevated one floor off a slab
Camp Lafitte, Designed by bildDESIGN

bildDESIGN Project Team:

  • Byron Mouton, Peter Kilgust, Joey Aplin, Emile Lejeune, Daniel MacDonald, John Tyler Young, Jason Blankenship

Single-Family and Two-Family Residential - Commendation

Interior of a open floor plan living space with a wall of windows leading to a porch in the background and on the right a roll-up door/wall that is open and an airstream trailer is pulled into the living space.
carPORCH, designed by bildDESIGN

bildDESIGN Project Team:

  • Byron Mouton, Matt Decotiis, Sara Allen Harper, Clayton Hakes, Chewys Parra, John Tyler Young, Jason Blankenship

People's Choice

URBANbuild18, designed by Tulane School of Architecture URBANbuild and bildDESIGN

URBANbuild Project Team:

  • Byron Mouton, Hugh Jackson, Maria Arrieta, Andrew Balestrary, Malia Bavuso, Mike Brady, Eric Cheesebrough, Jenna DeSmidt, Ashley Dwyer, Anthony Gagliano, Clara Gardner, Lauren Lake, Bryan Montenegro, Ryan Russel, Helen Samay, Katherine Schwab, Ian Shaw, Esther Zulem