2016 Charter Awards


2016 Charter Awards

Congress for the New Urbanism

The Congress for the New Urbanism is seeking student project submissions for the 2016 Charter Awards, an international honor recognizing projects in architecture, planning, landscape, and urban design that contribute to sustainability, equity, health, community, and quality of life.

Applicants are judged on the extent to which they fulfill and advance the principles of the Charter of the New Urbanism, which defines the essential qualities of outstanding buildings and urban places.

This year's Charter Awards will recognize projects at three scales, based on the structure of the Charter:

The Region: Metropolis, City, and Town Neighborhood, District, and Corridor Block, Street, and Building

We are currently seeking entries from degree-seeking students in any discipline that contributes to the built environment.

CNU highlights Charter Awards winners on its website, and will conduct a Charter Awards ceremony at CNU 24 in Detroit.

The submission fee for the 2015 Student Charter Awards is $50 per project, which includes a one-year student membership to CNU.

Submissions are due at midnight on January 31, 2016.

For questions on how to apply, contact Messaging and Development Manager Sam Warlick

Back to top